Athletics


 

REGION 4-AAAAAA

Harrison * Hillgrove * Kennesaw Mountain * Marietta * McEachern * North Cobb North Paulding Osborne

 

2014 – 2015 Physical packets can be picked up in the Athletic office or Russell Hall.

 

ATHLETIC DIRECTOR

Jimmy Dorsey – jimmy.dorsey@cobbk12.org
office: 770-222-3710
fax: 678-567-1376

TICKET PRICES:

  • Varsity Football offers a RESERVED TICKET  for their four regular season Varsity games. The cost is $40.00. A parking pass may be purchased for an additional $20.00. Contact Angie Benton at angie.benton@cobbk12.org to find out more.
  • Varsity Football: Adults $7.00 / Students $5.00 (pre-sale)
  • All other sports: Adults $5.00 / Students $3.00

ATHLETIC LINKS:

core course GPA
2015 and beyond Eligibility
2016 and beyond Eligibility
NCAA Eligibility Center
ACT Test Dates
SAT Test Dates
A Parent’s Guide to Concussion
Heat, Hydration, and Lightning Information from the NFHS Sports Medicine Advisory Committee

A student athlete that has plans to participate in any sport for the 2014-2015 school year must have a current sports physical completed on or after April 1, 2014. This form must be completed and turned in before any participation is allowed. Physical forms can be picked up in Russell Hall or the Athletic Office in the HPEW building.

Athletic Boosters Club

Hello McEachern Indians Families!

Welcome to the Athletic Booster Club and all of the exciting and competitive athletic activities and games at McEachern High School!

The MHS Athletic Booster Club is a volunteer group of parents, supporting all athletic related activities within an environment that promotes leadership, team spirit and sportsmanship. Our purpose is to support and promote all sports activities of the McEachern High School athletic programs; to encourage and recognize our student athletes; to contribute to the moral, spirit and enthusiasm of our student athletes and community; and to help provide a vehicle for positive involvement by the community with the school.

The primary means of support is through working concessions for all of our athletic teams. We are also able to host various large events simply because we are McEachern and have the facilities, support and leadership to run them right. The funds generated are used to cover the costs of our sports banquets at the end of each season, as well as all varsity letters and awards for our student athletes. In addition, we also fund a scholarship for a male and female senior athlete, selected by their coaches and teachers each year. This equated to $1,500 for each of them at the end of last school year. Parents don’t pay a dime of this; we only ask that you commit to helping out. We expect greatness from our athletic teams and should set the same standard as the McEachern Athletic Booster Club.

We look forward to new members and new projects this year. Join the MHS ABC today! If your child is involved in athletics, you should become a member and get involved! Our goal is 100% membership and representation of all of our athletes and their families in the MHS Athletic Booster Club.

Officers:

President:  Les Wattley  678-772-9732 – lwattely@comcast.net
Vice President:  Myka Lemon  678-576-0388 – myka99@bellsouth.net
Secretary:  Tai Roberson  770-845-0684 – tai.roberson@gmail.com
Membership Chair:  Liz Shaw  404-210-5870 – wshaw22@comcast.net
Treasurer:  Dennise Voyles – dennise.voyles@cobbk12.org

 

McEachern Booster Club Application 2014-15 

 

 

Baseball

baseball field

Head Coach: Dan Torrenti – Daniel.Torrenti@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coaches:
Michael Caldwell
Karlton Schilling
Randy Taylor
Russ Walker

Varsity Baseball Schedule and Scores 2013-2014

JV Baseball Schedule 2013-2014

Baseball Website

Basketball: Boys

 

Head Coach: Mike Thompson – mike.thompson@cobbk12.org – (770) 222- 3710 x 263

Assistant Coaches:
Bo Abney
Assamee Asad
Cameron Fitch
Brian Minish
Koz Richards
Clint Smith

Basketball Website

Basketball: Girls

2014 GIRLS 4-AAAAAA STATE CHAMPIONS

030914_hs_mceach_kdj20

Head Coach: Phyllis Arthur – phyllis.arthur@cobbk12.org – (770) 222- 3710 x 261

Assistant Coaches:
Renee Blackmon
Myra Camese
Rhonda Nicholls
Marranda Polk
Cedra Potts
Derricka Troup
Deborah Wilcox

Mascot: Indians
Colors: Royal Blue And Vegas Gold
Region: 4AAAAAA

Honors and Awards:

2014 State Champions
2012 State Champions
2012 Ranked 2nd in the Nation

      • 12 State Champions
      • 07, 08, 09, 10, 11,12 State Appearance
      • 05, 12 Final Four
      • 01-03, 10, 12 Sweet 16
      • 96 & 98 Elite
      • Region Champs 94, 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 10, 12

 

Girls Basketball Page

McEachern Tour of Champions

Cheerleading

Head Coaches:

Rachel Botkin – rachelbotkin@gmail.com
Aaren Erwin – aaren.erwin@cobbk12.org

 

Asst. Coaches:

Cross Country

Coach: Carla Okwumabua – carla.okwumabua@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coaches:
Rhonda Craig
Danny Potts

 

Cross Country Page

Athletics Website:
Georgia Track & Field
GA Sports

Note: When clicking on the links above, you will leave the official MHS Website.

Football

Football Website

Head Coach: Kyle Hockman
Assistant Coaches:
Phil Hoskins – Assistant Head Coach
Van Spence – Offensive Coordinator
Ken Hockman – Co-Defensive Coordinator
Bryan Minish – Co-Defensive Coordinator
Brent Haygood – Offensive Line Coach
Karlton Schilling – Offensive Line Coach
Jason Hollingsworth – Defensive Line Coach
Dave Shuler – Defensive Line Coach
Jon Osnowitz – Runningbacks Coach
Sheddrick Wilson – Wide Receivers Coach
Rich Foster – Tight Ends Coach
Chris Cody – Safeties Coach
Steve Adley – Special Teams Coordinator
Randy Taylor – Kicking Coach
Brian Smith – Strength Coordinator
Bryan Jacobson – Video Coordinator

 

Golf

 

Boys Head Coach: Johnny Caldwell – johnny.caldwell@cobbk12.org

Girls Head Coach: Van Spence – van.spence@cobbk12.org

Lacrosse: Boys
IMG_5500
Head Coach: Bo Abney–Bo.Abney@cobbk12.org
Assistant Coaches:
Cameron Fitch
Brent Haygood
Clinton Smith

****MCEACHERN JUNIOR LACROSSE****

AGES/TEAMS

  • 9 and under
  • 11 and under
  • 13 and under

WHEN

  • February–Beginning of May
  • **Will not conflict with Spring Football

COST

  • Between $150-$200
  • Cost will depend on the # of players per team
  • **EQUIPMENT INCLUDED**

Sign ups

Contact

  • Feel free to contact Coach Abney with any questions at: Bo.Abney@cobbk12.org
Lacrosse: Girls

 

Head Coach: Myra Camese – myra.camese@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coach:
Patrick Lynch
Ryan Furr

Girls Lacrosse Page

 

Soccer: Boys

 

Head Coach: Mike Lockridge – charles.lockridge@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coaches:
Stuart Jones
B.J. O’Brien
Jordan Williams

Soccer: Girls

Head Coach: Steven Jones

Assistant Coach: Hannah Eisla

 

Girls Soccer Page

Softball

 

Head Coach: Myra Camese – myra.camese@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coaches:
Dan Torrenti
Brad Prather

 

Sports Medicine

 

Head Coach: Coach Randy Taylor

Athletic Trainer: Brice Benefield

Swimming

 

Head Coach: Melissa Alexander – melissa.alexander@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coaches:
Mark Glendon
DJ Shaffer

Tennis

Boys Head Coach: Bryan Minish - bryan.minish@cobb.k12.org

Assistant Coach:
James Hunter

Girls Head Coach: Linda Montgomery – linda.montgomery@cobbk12 – 770-222-3710 ext 499

Tennis Page

Track & Field

 

Head Track Coach: Phil Hoskins - philip.hoskins@cobbk12.org
Phone: 770-365-7287
School: 770-222-3710 ext 700

Assistant Coaches:
Boys and Girls Assistant Head Coach: Cedric Sapp
Throws: Rhonda Craig
Long Distance: Carla Ponder Okwumabua
Strength Coach/Short Sprints: Brian Smith
High Jump/Throws: Jason Hollingsworth
Pole Vault/Distance: Rhonda Nicholls
Long Sprinters / Hurdles: Cedric Sapp
Long Jump/Sprints: Marranda Polk
Timing/Distance: Danny Potts
Triple Jump: Philip Hoskins

                  Track & Field Page

Volleyball

 

Head Coach: Phylis Arthur - phyllis.arthur@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coaches:

 

 

Volleyball Page

 

Wrestling

 

Head Coach: Ben Hamburg – ben.hamburg@cobbk12.org

Assistant Coaches:
Steve Adley
Nate Berryman
Ryan Furr
Lindsey Hamburg
Terrell Small
Randy Taylor

Click here for informaiton about the WORKHORSE WRESTLING CAMP at Woodland High School 2014

Junior Wrestling:

 

 

 

 


 

McEachern High School
2400 New Macland Road
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Phone: (770) 222-3710
Fax: (770) 222-3712

Principal

Regina Montgomery

 

“High Levels of Learning for All”

Connect with MHS